This post may have affiliate links. If you click one of these links and make a purchase, we will be paid a commission at no additional cost to you.

Sharing is caring!

There are angels in another dimension that follow a specific role set forth by Almighty God.

We know of a few from the various religious and spiritual reading material that has been handed down throughout the centuries.

There are four primary archangels that are the most powerful and important of God’s top angels.

What is an archangel?

The word ARCHANGEL comes from the Greek words “arche”, meaning ruler and “angelos”, meaning messenger.

They have two significant duties. The first is to rule over other angels and the second is to deliver messages from God to human beings.

Who are the 4 main archangels?

The four primary archangels are Michael, Gabriel, Raphael and Uriel.

They are the superiors over all angels, but they are also able to deliver powerful messages when directed to do so by God.

Each archangel has a different color associated with them.

Four Main Archangels


Archangel Michael with sword

Archangel Michael is God’s top angel.

He leads and supervises all the other archangels in carrying out their responsibilities.

Protection, truth, integrity, courage, and strength are characteristics of this bold and mighty angel.

When Michael arrives, a sense of protection and warmth immediately empower you. His feeling of strength is obvious and you just know that Michael is near.

Blue is the color that is representative to Michael.

Perhaps this is due to the blue skies that remind us of his protective nature.

The metaphysical system also provides a more scientific answer to this color. Based on the seven different light rays, blue stands for power, protection, faith, courage, and strength. This is a very accurate description of Archangel Michael.


Archangel Gabriel walking with one hand held out

Archangel Gabriel often shows up bearing an important message.

That’s because she is the top angelic messenger of God. Gabriel is perfect for this job with her calm and patient delivery of God’s announcements.

Often appearing in dreams to those that need help with communication skills, she leaves one with a sense of purity, harmony, and holiness.

Gabriel can provide purity, fulfillment and direction in achieving your life’s goal.

What better color than white to associate with this spiritual angel. On most people’s minds, white represents purity and harmony of holiness.

When focusing on discovering that right revelation, Archangel Gabriel comes through with his/her shining white light.


Archangel Raphael statue with children sitting at his feet

Raphael means “He who heals” in Hebrew.

Archangel Raphael is quick to come to your side when asked.

Although he does not work miracles, he presents the right information or method in getting the job done.

Raphael works to heal the mind, spirit, and body of all who ask so they can enjoy good health and peace.

His presence is sometimes announced with a witty physical action, such as a book falling from a shelf.

Healing of the body, mind, soul and spirit is the goal of Archangel Raphael.

Green reminds us of the natural state of the earth and is fitting for this angel’s color.

Raphael will provide not only healing as seen in a natural state, but can also give shelter, food and clothing when needed.


statue of Archangel Uriel with sword in his hands

Uriel holds a very profound job of showing man the difference between good and evil. Understanding the corruption of the world can leave one in a state of confusion.

Archangel Uriel is there when seeking the knowledge to make the right decisions, solving problems and resolving conflicts.

Archangel Uriel rules the mental plane, our thoughts and ideas, creativity, insights, judgment, and the distribution of power.

True thoughts become more prevalent and easier to process with Uriel near.

Uriel brings wisdom to all that ask. Whether problems consist of a physical or spiritual nature, his/her ability to conquer emotional imbalances are unbelievable. For this reason, purple and gold are Uriel’s colors, representing courage, wisdom and mercy.

By asking for Archangel Uriel’s help in improving our faith, we are able to let go of resentment and bitterness.

The peace that this angel brings can give us the guidance and wisdom that is needed in a chaotic world.

When you think of the colors of the rainbow, you can understand how angels are significant to the shimmering beauty through association.

Colors provide a wonderful way to bring about different emotions and appreciation of the earth. The representative colors of the angels extend this to a spiritual level.

If you liked this post about the four primary archangels, I’d love for you to “PIN IT“!

The four primary archangels pinterest pin.  Pic with angel wing.

Purple pin image with angel wings and words All About the 4 Primary Archangels Everything You Wanted to Know

Other posts you might enjoy:

What Does it Mean to Find Angel Feathers
10 Signs from Your Angels
How to Ask for Guidance from Angels

Sharing is caring!

Bob is on sabbatical leave and is unable to respond to messages or take on new clients at this time.