What is the Heart Chakra?

by | Dec 14, 2016 | chakra | 0 comments

Sharing is caring!

What is the Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is located in the central region of the spine and close to the heart. Hindu, Shakta and Buddhist traditions call this the Anahata, which is associated with balance, calmness and serenity. Also referred to as the fourth chakra, Anahata means unstruck sound.
Air is the natural element symbol of the heart chakra. Air is connected to everything around us, including the spiritual bonding of love and compassion. The fourth chakra also acts as a bridge between the lower chakras and the upper chakras. The life motif of the heart chakra represents deep and profound truths that cannot be verbalized.

Recognizing a Heart Chakra Imbalance

The energy center of the Anahata is related to universal and individual love as well as other things. When the heart chakra is out of balance, there are obvious mental and/or physical problems that appear. Conditions that affect the heart, lungs, chest, arms, and hands can be associated with an unbalanced heart chakra. High blood pressure, poor circulation and problems with the heart muscle and valves are examples of physical imbalance. Mental problems can appear as co-dependence, manipulative behaviors, feeling of unworthiness, and an inability to trust yourself and others.

Tools for Helping Balance

The heart chakra does more than provide a loving nature. It creates an atmosphere that enables the surrounding chakras to work more efficiently. The colors and gemstones associated with Anahata are green and rose. Green is used to balance the vibrations of the nervous system and emeralds or jade are good for use in bringing balance. Rose quartz or rhodonite can aid in awakening a softer and more affectionate feeling. Other green stones that are used in balancing the heart chakra include green tourmaline, malachite, chrysoprase, dioptase, peridot, aventurine, moss agate and green jasper.

All chakras are important, but the heart chakra acts as the balance point for all the chakras. Without getting it in proper balance, it is difficult to work on the other chakras with any hope of immediate success. By concentrating on the heart chakra early in balancing, you will find that many of the other chakras are easier to open. Use meditation, colors and gemstones and yoga to aid in proper balance and always keep in mind that the earth is greater than self. Without love, an accepting and forgiving nature can be very difficult to achieve.

Sharing is caring!


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bob is on sabbatical leave and is unable to respond to messages or take on new clients at this time.